Ancient Calendar & Pagan Holidays: July 27th: First Female Pharaoh

Even though this is an Ancient Calendar Date that will also apply to all  July 27th’s to come, I can’t help but to reflect on what is going on right now, as I write this.  How far women have come and how far they still have to go.

As my fingers tap against my keyboard and my eyes glance back and forth from my notes to my Writing Program in order to get this worked up and posted for all of you to read, my mind skips to all the women in the news today—those who are running for President like Hilary and those who were running for President, like Fiorina. I think about the women fighting for equal pay and I think about women who are just fighting to be taken seriously. I think about all of the women who have paved the path for us now – the right to vote, the right to shake off a 100 pounds of clothing, the right to even speak in a religious place…

This makes me respect Queen Hatshepsut even more as this day is all about celebrating her day of birth.

I wonder if Thutmose I and his wife, the Queen Ahmose, of Ancient Egypt, knew their daughter, Hatshepsut would end up being the very first Female Pharaoh?

Hatshepsut

Her destiny didn’t start out that way, though. At first, she was the wife of Thutmose II. It was only after his death that she bravely and boldly declared herself Pharaoh during a time when there wasn’t even an Egyptian Hieroglyph or word describing or speaking of such.

A person can’t help but think of how far we have come and owing that journey to women such as her. What thoughts shall Hatshepsut stir within your own mind as the Ancient Calendar celebrates her birthday?

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT