March: Pagan Artist of the Month: Nix Winter

When I first met Nix Winter, I knew him as an Author, but slowly, I began to realize that’s not his only talent. Then, once someone suggested I contact him for the Pagan Artist of the Month, I became floored—literally—at just how much of an Artist he is! Nix Winter is an artist by natural means (drawing, painting, etc) but also, a photographer, a photo manipulator, and a digital master.  So this month, I will be proud to show off Nix’s talent (his many pictures) in our Pagan Holiday posts…so make sure to catch those as we move towards April.

 

The Interview:

C.H. Scarlett: Tell us about the Pagan that lives inside of Nix and do those beliefs inspire your fabulous art?

Nix Winter: Labels are so limiting. They give us comfort as they define our world like borders on a map. I started my spiritual path as a Christian. It was so constricting, so linear. There is so much guilt in my experience of that path anyway. I found a book by Starhawk and my life opened up!

Over the nearly two decades since then, I’ve found I don’t believe in a particular deity. I believe in a connection to the universe, to energy that binds us all together. What brings me good, is good for the community. When I give to the community, it comes back to me.

Lately I think.. that I am a song, my being physical and soul, the path of my life. All the parts, living brings forth a kind of song, like whales or the harmony of stars.

C.H. Scarlett: When did you first discover your talent?

Nix Winter: I don’t know that I’ve discovered something within myself that isn’t with anyone I just love trying things, seeing beautiful things. Maybe there’s something in all of us that strives be bright and vivid so that other people can see us.

C.H. Scarlett: What is the process behind most of your art? What mediums do you use?

Nix Winter: My process is incredibly varied. At the most basic, I’m just looking for some way to say what I need to say. As for mediums, I use all different kinds. I’ve enjoyed photography, digital art done in Photoshop, Painter and Manga Studio. I work with acrylic, water color, pastel, Copic markers, colored pencil, ink and brush, and even a little air brush.

For me creating some visual representation of an idea or a feeling is about trying to be one with it. I guess I’m trying to turn my soul inside out, leave a print of it like with Silly Putty getting an image off of a cartoon strip. It’s really easy… just put color to surface, let it tell you where it should go.

C.H. Scarlett: What artists and or musicians–and songs– if any, inspire you and why?

Nix Winter: Oh I love art! I love Georgia O’Keefe, Degas, Monet, Kishimoto, and Clamp. I saw an exhibition of Micheal Angelo at Seattle Museum of Art. Amazing stuff, not because it was so perfect, but because it was pretty normal, way been than I can do, but still sketches. He tried to burn up all his sketches and drawings at the end of his life to help the myth that his work was inspired by God.

I saw this amazing piece by Yoko Ono that bent my mind. It was so simple. Just a block of wood, a hammer on a chain and a bowl of nails. The art formed as viewers took a nail and banged it into place. It was ever changing, always unfinished. All art, if we know it or not, is like that…. we make something and we show it to the viewer and in the viewer’s mind new concepts, meanings, understandings are added, deleted, shifted.. and this piece of art becomes born a new for each person that internalizes it.

I love Japanese art a lot and I listen to mostly Japanese music. Sometimes music gives me ideas for stories or art, but mostly it’s my buffer, my protector.

C.H. Scarlett:  That’s awesome. I haven’t heard anyone mention Georgia O’Keefe as being an inspiration in forever. I adore her work too. Everyone you mentioned, is fabulous—and sadly, some are not spoken of so much anymore with artists. Refreshing.

Now, tell me, if the world was created in the image of your imagination, what would it be like when we woke up tomorrow and seen it with new eyes?

Nix Winter: Oh goodness! You’d probably have to read my books for that. It’s changing, growing. Sometimes my imagination is pretty dark, so it might not be so nice. I think the world we’ve got is very fantastic and we don’t use half of what we’ve got!

C.H. Scarlett: If someone would like to commission your talent, where can they findhousesilver you? What are you open for—Book covers, Graphic Novels… what?

Nix Winter: I do a lot of book covers 🙂 I used to have a commission page up on my site, but I don’t now. I work mostly through loveyoudivine for cover work, but I’ve done one cover for Freya’s Bower too. If someone did want art from me, they should write and ask. 🙂

C.H. Scarlett: Any new projects in the future or plans?

Nix Winter: Oh yes! I have a cover I’m working on for Jaime Samms. I need to finish covers for Cain and Shelly, The Pet 11. I want to work on a graphic novel and I have so many candidates for what I should do. I just got my copy of Immortal Fire. I was really proud of that project. I did all the covers and wrote a short story for it as well.


www.transformation.com
My work: www.nixwinter.com

 

 

 

I would like to thank Nix for allowing us to show him off!!!

C.H. Scarlett 

One thought on “March: Pagan Artist of the Month: Nix Winter”

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

