Gratitude

It’s very easy to get overwhelmed by the things that aren’t right in life. The small setbacks can loom out of all proportion sometimes, while bigger challenges can entirely take over. It’s all too easy to get a ‘doom and gloom’ mentality.

There is always something to be glad about, and thankful for.

However awful, miserable, demoralising and frightening life is, it is essential to look for those little lights, those moments of value and joy that are scattered through even the worst days. The smile on a face of a stranger. A kind word from a loved one. A thing made, mended or tidied up. The small victories are worth so much. On the worst days, there might still be moments when the sun literally breaks through the clouds, a bird sings. Just having survived is a thing to celebrate. There will be another day, and where there is life, there is hope. 

These crumbs of goodness, these glimpses of hope and joy can be enough to stop your soul from starving when times are painful. I lived for the small things, for quite some years, built my sense of self and happiness around the slightest details. It’s come as quite a surprise to find there’s a lot more in life to enjoy and feel hopeful about. But those small things sustained me when I might otherwise have felt myself entirely lost in the dark. There were sunsets, the things I was able to make and mend, the times I gave my child a reason to smile. There was music, one of the greatest blessings I have ever known, and friends who were kind even though they did not know the half of it.

Perhaps today has been a good day for you. Perhaps it was like all the others, or notably bad. But there will have been something that was sweet, good, or worthwhile. Hang on to those details. Treasure them, celebrate them. Some days the small things are the only things we have. And often, it’s not in the huge triumphs and wild excesses that we find satisfaction anyway.

3 thoughts on “Gratitude”

  1. And I have noticed (and am quite sure it is no coincidence) that you yourself, Brynneth, take great care to be kind and warm and welcoming to every tender new soul who appears non-trollishly upon this forum.

    Hospitality being one of the old Virtues and all…. 😉

    Speaking for myself, it’s greatly appreciated.

    Like

  2. when I started online, with no idea what to do, or how to play, I met an amazing old wizard and author by the name of Emy Naso, who taught me how to do these, and other things. I learned a lot from him about how to be a human being, and a lot of what I do in online spaces is to emulate what he did. He was a great man, and is much missed. Thank you for your words Raven.

    Like

  3. Brynneth, on my personal journey thru life, this theme of gratitude continuously appears to me In various forms thru myriad messengers… Thank u for shedding the light once again, for balancing the power of intellect with the wisdom of Heart 🙂

    Like

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

