Have Reality Shows Gone Too Far?

The subject of reality shows and how far they will go for publicity came up after I saw some clips promoting Season Two of Kourtney and Khloe Take Miami. CNN showed the clips as part of a news story about how these trailers had upset some people. My first thought was Keeping up with the Kardashians wasn’t enough, they had to make another useless show about these morons, I mean, people. Anyway, the clips showed what I perceived to be blatant domestic violence. Kourtney Kardashian is seen clutching her new baby, Mason, and cowering from the baby daddy, Scott Disick. Scott is seen drinking alcohol, exposing himself, yelling, punching walls, breaking things and the promo trailer ends with him in the hospital covered in blood. I guess they are willing to do anything for ratings even if it means glorifying a very real and horrible reality that is domestic violence. Besides that, don’t people get embarrassed anymore? Why would Kourtney allow this to be filmed? Some reports are circulating that Kourtney and Scott have split in the wake of this debacle, but these reports are unconfirmed.

Okay, I’m not completely daft when it comes to these reality shows. I know that they are somewhat staged and things are shown out of context, but it still seems wrong to me to promote domestic violence just to get higher ratings. Scott should have been arrested and Child Protective Services should have been at their door investigating whether the baby was, or could be, in danger. If this is being billed as a reality show, then the REALITY of domestic violence should be portrayed. In real life, Scott would have been arrested and the baby probably would have been taken away from them. Since I don’t watch this show, I don’t know if there was a disclaimer at the end of the episode that was supposed to air in June. I guess since they are famous (although why they are famous also escapes me) they can get away with breaking laws. If Kourtney and Khloe Take Miami is a reality show, then show us the gritty reality and consequences of domestic violence.

There are so many things wrong with this on so many levels. What do young people think when they see this kind of behavior on a reality show and how does it affect them? What will little Mason think (and how much damage will it do to him) when he is older and sees this episode of his father terrorizing his mother and acting like a complete ass? What does this say about our culture in general? Why do people even watch this crap? I’m all for free speech and all that, but this show is being called a reality show and what I saw was more like a dreadful attempt at a fictional drama. Do it right or don’t do it at all.

I’d like to know what other people think about this subject. Are reality shows taking things too far without showing the real consequences?

Kelley Heckart

‘Timeless tales of romance, conflict & magic’

http://www.kelleyheckart.com

http://kelleysrealm.blogspot.com/

http://twitter.com/CelticChick

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelley-Heckart/111838455604

4 thoughts on “Have Reality Shows Gone Too Far?”

  1. I don’t do television. It’s full of wrong. I’m totally with you on this one – if it’s fiction, get some better fiction, if it’s real, how on earth can a human being stand there with a camera and watch a man terrorise a woman who has a young child? There should be some reality injected, definitely.

    Like

  2. There is always a day when I am too burned out to write, too burned out to clean, or to burned to do anything but FINALLY flop down on a couch. I usually look for a cool Documentary, OR something on the History Channel…BUT when that fails, I try to nail a good black and white on A&E.

    But alas, some days, and we all know this to be true, there isn’t a damn thing on.

    But they will have a marathon of all these reality shows presenting the entire season all in one go. So out of curiosity, I’ll click it on, hoping to see HOW the other half lives. You know, while I am sitting here wondering how I’m gonna get the kid’s school clothes, or how I am gonna swing the mortgage and so on? lol. Personally, I get a sour stomach really, really quick. I’ve never seen a bunch of catty, jealous, immature, backstabbing, materialistic bunch of (bleeps) in all my life.

    Money sure as hell can’t buy class, that’s for sure.

    I watched one show where a woman was buying thousand dollar wigs and only wearing them for about a day or so. Then tossing them off to the side, to the garbage, to something???? Made me sick.

    What REALLY kills me the most is how they represent women. What? Women with money only worry about boob jobs and 50,000 dollar earrings? What? They can’t find better things to do with their time but gossip and try to out do the other?

    Real women are not like this. Real women who are intelligent and able to rule the damn world do not settle for being some rich man’s high class hooker.

    I’m not sure who these ladies, any of these ladies think that they are impressing, but it sure as hell isn’t the REAL women out there.

    Like

  3. I think I actually feel sorry for these reality show chicks. Yeah, they have lots of money, but it seems they aren’t happy unless a camera is jammed in their faces. That must be such a sad existence.

    It does make me mad when I land on one of these shows and they are throwing money away when people are starving and homeless in the United States. And I’m with you Casey, they don’t represent real women at all.

    Like

  4. All I can say that there is nothing real about reality tv. Unless It is a show like America’s Next top Model. At least you bknow those women are going to be superficial.

    Like

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

