Fear

I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.

(Litany against Fear, from Dune, by Frank Herbert)

I spent most of my childhood afraid. I was terrified of pretty much everything – fire, water, heights, enclosed spaces, strangers, electricity, the dark. More amusingly (looking back now) I was also frightened of mummers, topless men and men with beards! (Well and truly over all of that.) Then there were the existential ones – death, eternity, oblivion, god, infinity and the distance between stars had me panic stricken too. I had a lot of nightmares as a child. Looking back, I’m not sure why I was so frightened, but the world seemed a dangerous, troubling place and I had no sense of how to face any of it.

Growing up, I learned to cope – to swim, to strike matches. I’m still nervous on ladders and claustrophic, but the rest I’m ok with. Especially topless men with beards… well, topless man (but I digress).

 Fear makes people stupid. I know, I’ve lived with it enough. Fear makes it hard to think or act well, it makes us overly cautious, and sucks the joy out of life. Existence is laden with risk, the only certainty is death, but fear, as the litany says, is the mind killer.

How do we release fear and live without its influence? I can share what I’ve been through, it may work for others. The first stage for me was learning (mostly this late spring) how not to imagine the worst. If I spend my time imagining every possible thing that could go wrong, then all I do is watch for the signs of doom, and fret that I’ve missed something to look for. It doesn’t actually help and makes me miserable.

The next stage, for me, has been learning to trust – primarily myself, but also the people around me. I have learned to trust that I am fast on my feet, think well, that I know what I want and can react to setbacks accordingly. Things have not gone my way much this summer, but I roll with the punches as best I can, and then I get up and try the next forward move. Knowing what I need has enabled me to be very calm about everything else. I could lose my home, potentially. I could lose the way of life I have created if I am forced to up sticks. But so long as I have my child, and my bloke, I can work around that. I know I won’t lose my friends. The physical objects that matter to me, I could carry out of here in one go. I know that I can and will do whatever proves necessary, and that helps me not to be afraid of what the future holds.

I have also learned to trust myself in the sense of coming to understand that I am a decent enough person, and that I do my best. I accept that sometimes I will fail or fall short, I’m human, we do that sometimes. Most of the time that will not in fact cause the world to end. I’ve lived a long time being afraid of making mistakes or causing harm through lack of due care and attention. But it’s very hard to learn or strike out in new directions if you don’t have the freedom to make mistakes. Its difficult to live fully and happily if you devote an excess of energy to fretting over every possible slight you might cause. Sometimes, people take offence. I have learned to live with that, and to accept that I cannot please everyone all of the time.

The fear has passed, and only I remain.

Ancient Calendar: Festivals, Gods, Goddesses–Oh My!: July 7, 2010

We have bunches of stuff going on today—which happens to be a FABULOUS WEDNESDAY, or so I’m hoping it will be for everyone reading this.

For anyone interested…

Wednesday is the day of Woden.

Woden is the God of knowledge, enlightenment, wisdom, & war.

Some believe Woden is also Odin—God of the Norse.

Matters & Magical Workings For Wednesday

Today is a good day to deal with matters or rituals and spells concerning anything business. Or perhaps some sort of communication. Maybe debt—something we all have these days, or what about  fear and or possibly loss? Matters or magic concerning money, or work, some type of travel. And then there’s education.

Planets and Elements

Mercury and the element Air

___

 

Now, let’s get down to the A.C., shall we? Because on this day in Ancient History, our ancestors were checking off a lot.

Remember last week when we spoke of a two day festival that Rome would be having….where a slave saved the day with her brilliant idea? (The link to that post will be at the bottom of this article in case you want to revamp the brain cells.)

Anyway, in short, the story went, that Rome was defeated by Gaul, and the victors had big plans for the defeated. In fact, Gaul demanded that all of the women of Rome be given over to them to do WHAT we can just imagine or wouldn’t want to. About to obey this order, a Roman slave stepped up to the plate named Tutula. And she offered a better suggestion. Instead of sending the Noble ladies of Rome off to their enemies, why not dress up the slave girls to look like Noble women and SEND THEM. And the Romans did, but not without further plots and plans.

Once inside the camp of Gaul, the slave women did their thing by making the soldiers happy and very, very drunk. Once they were passed out, Tutula gave the signal to the Romanc soldiers hiding off in the darkness. They attacked and became the victor.

So because of THAT night, because of what Tutula did, today would have been known as Nonæ Caprotinæ–the second of two festivals had. Tonight’s festival would be honoring the Goddess Juno. However, the Romans would have also had another festival on this day that was important to Harvests, called Consulia, honoring the god of the earth, Consus.

Interestingly enough, and making a lot of sense, Consus’ alter which stood at the Circus Maximus was kept covered with earth all year long except for the three days. After uncovering it today, they would have had great fun–chariot races, a Roman festival of Handmaids, or otherwise known as the maid’s day out, and many other celebrations to make the people of Rome very, very happy and to honor a God which Rome depended on for food, etc.

Also in Roman calendar, today would have been the Nones of July.

 

On other notes, the Celtic tree month of Duir ends today. (Check back tomorrow to find out which tree month begins!)

 

Ancient Calendar: Earth’s Orbit, Rome Throws Down, & Some Egyptian Ma’at: July 5, 2010

C.H. SCARLETT
~
www.chscarlett.net

~

Wyntress Nyght’s Supernatural Crack :

Published by Noble Romance PublishingDare to be Different!

Need Your Wyntress Nyght fix?

Catch her and those who haunt her grave at:

Twitter-liscious

Facebook-fabulous

clip_image002clip_image004
Catch C.H. SCARLETT @

clip_image005clip_image006clip_image007clip_image008clip_image009clip_image010clip_image011

My body, my choice – even when I’m 80

Those of you who follow  my personal blog know that my 76 year old mother had her leg amputated at Christmas and has yet to leave the hospital. She lives on the other side of the country so I can’t visit her that often. I flew home the beginning of June to spend a couple of weeks home.

Continue reading My body, my choice – even when I’m 80