Geez, Who peed in your Pepsi?: Typo Causes Uproar

I wanted to start my column off with a topic that is very familiar to me and to other writers, editors and publishers. It’s the dreaded typo. I never could have guessed a typo would cause such a problem for one publisher.

Due to a typo that caused outrage, a publisher had to reprint 7,000 copies of a cookbook called The Pasta Bible. The pasta recipe called for ‘salt and freshly ground black pepper,’ but instead, due to a typo, it was printed as ‘salt and freshly ground black people.’

Wow, I didn’t know that cannibals ate pasta.

The article did not reveal the identity of the enraged party.

This story really got to me because I know how difficult it is to find every typo or grammatical error in a manuscript even after reading it over and over again. A great editor will find most errors, but editors are human and can miss something. And spell check would not have caught this type of error because ‘people’ is an accepted word and spelled correctly. Sure, this is an embarrassment for the editor and the publishing company, but to make it more than that is ludicrous to me.

Mistakes happen. Live with it. The typo in The Pasta Bible is a silly, unintentional error, and I don’t understand why someone would become upset over it. I doubt that a group of cannibals are trying to push their recipes on unsuspecting individuals. As a society, are we really so sensitive that we cannot just laugh this off? Whatever happened to the days when we just brushed off a negative comment? Now, we cause a stink over every little thing that happens, suing people over trivial matters like this.

The reprint cost the publisher $18,500. What a waste of time and money. The good side to this situation for the publisher is that due to the typo, this book is sure to be a best seller. The books that were already shipped out with the typo will probably be a collector’s item someday. I am sure there will also be some people that will demand a replacement book because the typo bothers them.

Do you think people are just too sensitive these days and are too quick to get angry, especially over something so ridiculous as a typo? Are there any cannibals out there offended by this?

Kelley Heckart

‘Timeless tales of romance, conflict and magic’

http://www.kelleyheckart.com

http://kelleysrealm.blogspot.com/

http://twitter.com/CelticChick

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelley-Heckart/111838455604

Positive Thoughts

The first time I felt the effects of other people’s positive thoughts, was on the day of my Gran’s funeral. I’d been close to Gran, and was distressed over losing her. I’d also agreed to sing at the funeral – she was a folky too, and we felt it right to sing her on her way. Being the most used to public performance, I offered. I knew it would be the hardest thing I’d ever done.

In the car on the way there, I had an awareness of all those people whose thoughts were travelling with me. People who kept me in their hearts that day, who wished me the strength to get through. It made a lot of odds. When the time came to sing (unaccompanied, in the church and stood next to the coffin) I was very aware of Gran being there too. It’s one of those memories that still brings a lump to my throat some years on. Singing is one of the hardest things to do in grief – it snarls up your voice. I got through it though.

On Sunday, when I started talking on facebook, the egroups and in person with friends and family about what was happening, I felt again that powerful sense of community and support. Words of kindness, advice and insight came in from across the globe. The international druid community is a wonder, and I am also part of an international folk community, and a community of authors. I am touched, and affected by how people rally to each other in times of crisis. Those words of support make such a lot of odds.

I believe that will accounts for a lot. There are folks who seem to drift through life unconsciously blundering into things and with no control over self or destiny. But most people have a sense of direction, dreams that help them orientate, desires that they seek to make manifest. Most of us (I hope!) do the things we will. Every event and human experience is the consequence of wills meeting, conflicting, compromising or collaborating to make ways forward that weren’t quite what anyone pictured, more often than not. Then there’s also the issue of deity, ancestors, the will of the land, the will of government, and all the other tides that might well have intentions of their own.

I believe that to a large extent, magic is the bringing of will into the world in a way that changes things. Over the weekend there were a lot of people willing us well. A simple, clear focus – to find a way through the current trials for myself and Tom. Candles were lit, prayers offered, magic undertaken and energy sent. I could feel it, the sense of this crashing wave of determination. A flow of will and blessing from all across the world.

Yesterday, Tom and I discovered that the situation is not at all what we imagined. We are not through it yet, but we have, by the looks of it, been put through hell due to an administrative and/or computer cock up. We can fight that. Keep your fingers crossed for us please! We aren’t in the clear yet, but we have hope. In the meantime what I can offer back to you is this. Magic works. Where there is sufficient need, desperation, focus and intent, things change. When Tom is here, I’m going to sit down and give some serious thought to what that means in a wider context because, people, the world is crying out for magic in so many ways.

Ancient Calendar: June 16, 2010 : Teardrops of Isis

Everyone ready for the Ancient Calendar for today?

Here we go…we ONLY have one, but what a beautiful one it is. I tell ya, those Egyptians might not have partied it up like the Greeks and Romans, but when it came to celebrations or what was sacred, they made it sound as sweet as a whisper…or look as spectacular and breathtaking as a sunset…

Let this evening be NO different…

The Egyptians called it, Night of a Teardrop.

On this night, when the moon rose high in it’s sky, Isis shed one blessed and mournful tear for her beloved, Osiris. That precious tear was then collected into the palm of the Goddess of the River Nile, Satis, in which she placed it within’, causing the Nile to bring forth it’s annual flood. Even in Isis’ pain, something divine came forth.

So, if this night brings tears to your eyes, for whatever reason, know that while the pain might be gruesome, there may still come a blessing from them.

And may Isis bless you all…although I am sure she already has.

~

C.H. SCARLETT
~Casey~
www.chscarlett.net

Need Your Wyntress Nyght fix?

Catch her and those who haunt her circle at:

Twitter-liscious

Facebook-fabulous

clip_image002clip_image004
~
Quote from Wyntress Nyght’s Supernatural Crack

While doing a crossword puzzle…

Jinx asks: “What’s a thirteen letter word for rebirth?”

Wyntress replies: “Regurgitation.”
~

Catch C.H. SCARLETT @ clip_image005clip_image006clip_image007clip_image008clip_image009clip_image010clip_image011