Opening Doors and Parking Spaces, Rain And Bird Song

As the battle goes, so do the eyes open to see.

Many times over the last few months as I’ve been going to treatments and dealing with this ‘transition’, as someone wisely opined about this event, I’ve seen things most of us take for granted.  My cat never sleeps on my stomach.  The day I was diagnosed with the tumor, he plopped down on my abdomen right over where the tumor was found and slept there for about 2-3 hours.  I was so exhausted emotionally that I didn’t move during that entire time.  Plus, I didn’t want him to move so I stayed where I was, feeling his healing energy flow into me.  He knew.  The Universe knew.

Going to my Radiation treatments, for two treatments in a row I went to the elevator doors and before I even reached out to touch the button to call them up, the doors opened and I just walked right on in.

One day, after receiving my disability placard for my car, we drove into the parking lot of the hospital for the last chemo treatment.  Mom said, “There’s a spot over here,” she waved over to a far corner of the lot.  I had already turned down the aisle for the handicapped.  (My mom needs it as much as I do, she suffers a lung illness and can’t walk far without needing to sit down.)  I told her, “Let’s just see if there’s a spot open here.”  No sooner did I finish the sentence than a car pulled out of a handicapped space and we were able to pull right in.  My mom just rolled her eyes, “I give up.  You’re right, you’re right.  The Universe is with us.”

We go to the elevator…it opens up again.  Mom just gave me another look.  I just grinned.

During one treatment, we arrived on time, but they got us in two hours late.  I ended up being the last patient they had for the evening…good thing.  In spite of us having to wait for the treatment to get started (a four hour treatment), it was a good thing.  All the nurses were available when I developed an allergic reaction to the last drug they gave me.  Three nurses worked like a team, one getting me on oxygen, the other shooting me up with Benadryl and another putting a hot pack under my back to ward off the muscle spasms.  Within a minute the reaction began to ease.  Had I developed the reaction when they had other patients to attend to, no telling how fast they could have been in there.  The Universe moved again.

Woke up one morning to the sound of bird song outside the window.  I just lay there, soaking it up, smiling.  The rain came down and I had been studying about Lady Danu.  I went to the window with my cat and we both just looked out and watched the rain fall, the clouds roll across the sky and I thanked Danu with tears in my eyes.  (I love the rain!)  It was all just so beautiful.

Seeing life and little miracles around me…Death is the teacher.  I’m learning to see these things and just grin from ear to ear.

Hugs,

Myristica

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

