39 Days of Prayer – Day 17

Day 17 – Surrender


Lady and Lord,

I feel your love for me in every breath and in every lesson.

Thank you for supplying me with all I need to live a life of wholeness and charity.

And because I know that you are the beginning and end, the Energy of All, and you live in every part of me

Because I know your goal is my health and happiness, and because I have the utmost faith in you,

I freely and fully release my ideas of what is best for me

I release my attachment to my plans

I release my attachment to my possessions and finances

And I open my heart and spirit to accept your guidance, so that my love and life may be used for the benefit of all.

I gently release the people who no longer serve me on my divine path, whether they are family, friends, or acquaintances,

and they fully and freely release me

so that there is room for you, Lady and Lord, to fill my life with people who love and respect me.

I release the thoughts of what I should, could, or would be

And accept who I am in your eyes, Goddess and God.

I receive the many blessings you have for me.

I accept and honor the will of the Divine in my mind, body, and spirit.

I am ready for my life to change.

Blessed be.

Letting the Child go …

The Owl Woman

I’ve just done one of the hardest things for me, and I’ve done it twice!

For a writer, letting go of your book is like letting your child go out into the world – the most terrible wrench. A psychologist friend who was consultant to the Society of Authors used to say we all suffered from post-parturition at this stage of the writing. It certainly feels like that to me. I’ve just let two of my babies go out into the world, get listed at Amazon.com, Baker & Taylor, and Barnes & Noble. Brick and mortar book-stores, NACSCORP, and the Espresso Book Machine may also stock the titles. It feels like a huge step :-). I’ve done it before with the other books but each time it hurts, I worry, panic a bit even … Is the book OK? Have I done the best I could? Once you take this step it’s very difficult to go back and make a revision.

But I shouldn’t want to. I’ve been all round that with revisions and edits and so-on and so-forth. Somehow that doesn’t take the wrench away. They’re off now, out in the Big Wide World, I must let go.

Moonpath to the Isle of the Dead

Which two have gone? Owl Woman and Moon Song. They’ve been in print for a while but this is the final distribution push.I’ve written them, they are finished, I mustn’t worry at them like a terrier with an old bone. Letting go of them, with the formal ritual of accepting and agreeing to their distribution is a rite of passage – for them and for me. It clears the space. I feel there is space now in which to concentrate on the first of the Ergyng Chronicles, Oak Man. Dyfrig and Jenni have waited a long time for me to give them my full attention, now I should be able to begin to do so. I can feel them brewing up at the back of my mind, little pictures and ideas, thoughts, words, relationships, conflicts, all the things that go to make up a story.

There are more potential children, ptoential stories, crowding the borderlands between Otherworld and Thisworld, wanting to come to life here, clamouring at me to bring them to life. Yes, yes, I can hear you! But I can only do so much at a time. I won’t forget you. You’ll all have your time.

Elen Sentier
… behind every gifted woman there’s usually a rather talented cat …
writer artist gardener shaman
My Blog
___________________________________________
Contact Me WordpressFacebookYoutubeMySpaceTwitterAmazonLinkedinFlickr
Celtic shaman – Elen Sentier Letting the child go …

Structure in Poetry

Most people who study poetry a bit are exposed to some of the basic forms – sonnets, haiku, limericks and ballad form are usual. Most popular songs are in something resembling ballad form, where the second line rhymes with the forth and line lengths are about even. Those who ventured further may have encountered meter, iambic pentameters, cinqain and other obscurities.

When it comes to writing poetry, the vast majority of people favour ‘free verse’ – because structure is difficult, often sounds forced and gets dull. Free verse can be incredibly beautiful, where the loose structure is shaped to support meaning and atmosphere.

However, structure does have merits. To say something meaningful within the restraints of haiku is an interesting challenge. Whether you want to use structure in your final pieces or not, I recommend exploring it, because it will teach you to write in different ways, and that’s an asset, however you then deploy it.

Perhaps the most important thing to bear in mind with poetry structures, is that they are not like laws of nature. Someone made them up, and they have gained credibility and popularity through use. Modern western writing favours syllable beats in rhythmic lines, with rhymes at the ends of lines. Haiku is all about the number of syllables in each line, and should contain a seasonal reference. It’s a totally different way of thinking, and tends to be non-rhythmical. Cinquain is American, and is about the number of words in each line, stanzas consisting of five lines, which gives the name. Again, rhythm plays no part here. Celtic poetry and Norse poetry had radically different structures involving internal rhymes and assonance and alliteration. The best descriptions I’ve found of these forms so far are in Robin Herne’s book ‘Old Gods New Druids’.

Playing with other people’s rules and structures is interesting. However, it is also possible to create your own structure. You can use the number of lines in a verse, rhyme, rhythm, syllables, numbers of words, and alliteration to create all kinds of patterns and structures.

 Why bother?

I could take

The lines of prose I am writing

And lay them out like a poem

Call them a poem

And who is going to argue with me?

But really, aside from the capital letters and line breaks, that’s no different to writing prose. Surely, poetry should be more than prose with an eccentric layout? The poetry I love most makes each word work harder than they would in a sentence. It pares out a lot of the grammar and filler words, focusing on essentials. Doing so makes for more immediate and dramatic writing. The rigours of using a structure give you a tool for cutting down the words. To fit the syllable pattern, the meter or the rhyme, you have to do something other than prose with a funny layout. That’s why structure is useful. It takes you away from other forms of writing and demands a different approach to the words. Then things can get a lot more interesting.

Ancient Calendar: June 8, 2010

On this day in Ancient History, Rome would have celebrated the Goddess Mens by giving her a festival. It was actually the anniversary of her temple which was located in the capital of Rome.

Mens stood for reason, intelligence and conscience.

_______________________________________________________________

Want more? Ancient Calendar.

_______________________________________________________________

©C.H. SCARLETT

www.chscarlett.net

Coming   Soon from Noble Romance Publishing Click to Purchase

____________________________________