Finding My Inspiration

My Inspiration

Inspiration is that unconscious burst of creativity that the ancients believed to be a gift from the gods. This wonderful gift can be found in the world around us—in books, music and in the colorful layers of a breathtaking sunrise. This is how I find that magical spark that allows ideas to flow freely through my mind. But inspiration is not just for artists. This is a precious gift that affects all parts of our lives if we allow ourselves to be open to it.

I found inspiration in the most unexpected way—from my dog. Living with a chronic disease is one of my biggest challenges and sometimes I do not handle it very well. I get cranky and feel sorry for myself, which of course, only makes me feel worse. Then a strange coincidence happened. One of my dogs was diagnosed with a similar illness. The difference is, despite her pain and struggles with this chronic condition, she handles her illness with grace and determination. Give her food, sunshine and an occasional belly rub and she is content even when she suffers from a stomachache or struggles to get up and walk with painful, stiff joints.

She has inspired me to love the simple things in life, to enjoy each day and to focus on anything other than my illness. When I feel myself walking back down a negative path, I look at her lying on the floor in her favorite position, flopped on her back, looking relaxed and happy…and I smile.

She is beautiful, strong and wise.

She has taught me to be thankful for what I have and to find happiness in simple pleasures.

She is my inspiration. 

Kelley Heckart

‘Timeless tales of romance, conflict & magic’

http://www.kelleyheckart.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelley-Heckart/111838455604

6 thoughts on “Finding My Inspiration”

  1. Thanks for all the wonderful comments.
    I have heard about therapy dogs that help people in the hospital. There is something calming about petting and just being around a dog.

    Like

  2. Kelley,
    What a beautiful, inspiring piece. It reminds us of the power of positivity. My old dog suffers from a chronic pulled ligament. She can’t walk as far as she used to, but she still loves to walk. We can learn so much from the natural world.

    Like

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

