Walking

I can’t think of a better shared activity for pagan families. Walking is great exercise. For most of humanity’s history it’s been the primary mode of transport, so setting out on foot is a way of connecting to the ancestors.

Walking is cheap. Anyone who is at all mobile can do it to some degree, and there are plenty of places where those who need wheels can travel with those who do not.

No matter where you are, walking will enable you to connect with nature – even in a city, you will see birds, the sky, and plant life in ways that you can’t from a car. Walking out into rural or wilder places gives you chance to experience nature alongside family members.

Walking allows time to talk, sharing stories, philosophy and observation. It also enables you to encounter other people and have brief moments of connection. In a world where we are increasingly inclined to shut ourselves into little boxes, this human contact is essential.

Walking is green. In terms of leisure, and fitness activities, you can’t get much better than walking out of your front door and ambling about for a few hours.

The rhythm of walking is meditative, and long walks take you out of regular mindsets, create calm, ease stress, and changes perceptions.

Walking allows us moments of unexpected beauty and wonder. Shared walking deepens relationships, both in the family and with the rest of the world. Nature and exercise are good for everyone, there are all kinds of soul blessings to be found along the path. It’s worth finding a few hours every week for this, and making it part of your life, and your pagan practice.

2 thoughts on “Walking”

  1. I’m a walker, always have been. Growing up in a rural area as a child my mother used to take my brothers and I out on rambling walks when we were little. We explored back roads that wound through the open fields and shadowy woods where she pointed out flowers, plants, and animals. We’d gather wildflowers, leaves, arrow heads, and rocks (there is a great deal of quartz to be found in Missouri).

    When we grew older we turned to riding our bikes and I know my mother missed those walks. On occasion, I’d go with her, and we’d just walk–no talking–taking in the beauty of the world around us.

    As an adult I moved to the city and continued the tradition of walking. I don’t drive and have never had a license, although I did get my permit at one time. I walk everywhere even hauling my groceries in a backpack from the store to my apartment.

    For the past 15 years I’ve lived in a historic neighborhood that borders Tower Grove Park, one of the last original Victorian walking parks left in the world. Tower Grove is a haven for local bird watchers, pagans, joggers, and bicyclists. I love walking there, no matter the season, and have come to know it as a friend and a way to connect with nature. A walk through trees that are over 140 years old calms and nurtures my soul.

    If you’re curious below is a link to the parks website. It is a peaceful haven of beauty for an urban pagan. 😀

    http://www.towergrovepark.org/

    Like

  2. My husband and I love to take quite, peaceful walks around the town we live in. When we finally move in a few years we’ll be completely surrounded by forest and mountain, so we’ll be taking plenty of nature hikes with our dogs.

    Like

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

