Low Income, But Not Low Spirit

Being an urban (well, rural now) pagan, I’ve lived in semi-cramped spaces off and on for most of my adult life. Add to that, I’ve been in the ‘low income’ bracket since I moved out of my mother’s house at the age of 16. I’ve often gone to other pagan houses and wondered how I could make my own space reflect who I am and what I believe, while on a next-to-nothing budget. Although I don’t have any professional tips and tricks, I can share what I’ve done to create a place of ritual and meditation.

I am a bargain shopper. I suppose it comes with the territory, but it’s something I learned from my mother. I’m not talking necessarily grocery shopping (though I bargain shop there, too). No, I’m talking about thrift shops, antique shops, dollar stores, yard sales–you name it. It’s amazing what sorts of treasures you can find in such places. My own brand of paganism is…well…a mish mash of a lot. I’m a Druid (of a primarily Welsh pantheon), but I also have taken bits and pieces of other religions–namely Christianity–and woven them all into something of my own design.

When I go to stores like the ones above, I don’t limit myself to specific items or symbolism. I’ve got pentacles, angels, crosses, goddess symbols, god symbols–all over my house. The Dollar Tree here in town is a favorite haunt–just for the little figurines and the candle holders.

Antique stores can be expensive, but if you look close enough, you’ll often find little things for a lot less that just jump out at you. I have a ceramic green bowl that I found at an antique shop for $6.00. It has an ivy motif–matching my bathroom (done in greens, frogs, and ivy) perfectly.

Thrift shops are another place to find little goodies. I’ve found more knick knacks and even tablecloths at thrift shops.

So being pagan–whether it’s urban or rural–doesn’t have to mean shelling out big bucks for decorations, ritual items, etc. Keep your eyes–and your mind–open, and there’s no telling what you’ll find out there for a few bucks.

4 thoughts on “Low Income, But Not Low Spirit”

  1. I love yard sales, auctions, antique stores, thrift stores, dollar stores, ALL OF IT!!!! lol What someone else thinks is outdated or junk, I think is a treasure. I love things with history…I love fixing things up….I just love what is overlooked or forgotten.

    While people were spending fortunes with the latest ‘kitchen styles’, I was decorating mine with baskets, blue mason jars, other types of jars and so forth.

    I could hit the lottery and I swear nothing would change as far as those things are concerned.

    Like

  2. Dollar tree is great. We actually found a pentagram candle holder and incense burner there. At a Good will we found a large candle with a rune carved into it. Sometimes it’s amazing what you can find.

    Like

Please Share or by all means, COMMENT

